Shutdownday – Can you survive for 24 hours without your computer?

It is obvious that people would find life extremely difficult without computers, maybe even impossible. If they disappeared for just one day, would we be able to cope?
Be a part of one of the biggest global experiments ever to take place on the internet. The idea behind the experiment is to find out how many people can go without a computer for one whole day, and what will happen if we all participate!
Shutdown your computer on this day and find out! Can you survive for 24 hours without your computer?

http://www.shutdownday.org/

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Uncategorized veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

7 Antworten zu Shutdownday – Can you survive for 24 hours without your computer?

  1. Kirsten schreibt:

    Today I received a reminder of tommorow’s Shutdown Day – luckily, because I really want to try to spend a day without being connected to the www, and to be honest I almost forgot about it…

    „Hello,

    Don’t forget Shutdown Day this Saturday, March 24th

    We appreciate everyone who takes part and we ask you to come back and tell us, on Sunday or early next week, what you did on Shutdown Day and whether you found it an enriching experience or a maybe just waste of time! We want your comments…

    You’ll be able to give us your thoughts, comments and send us videos/photos here:

    http://www.shutdownday.org

    Many thanks for taking part in the experiment, we hope you have a very enjoyable Shutdown Day.

    Regards,

    The Shutdown Day Team“

  2. Kirsten schreibt:

    After the one-day-„no computer“-survival-training (it was tough, but I made it😉 )here comes the next challenge: the TV-Turnoff-Week from April 23rd-29th: http://www.tvturnoff.org/index.html

  3. Kirsten schreibt:

    And the next Shutdownday will take place on March 22nd 2008🙂 http://www.shutdownday.org/

  4. Alex schreibt:

    Hi Kerstin,

    the next challenge is an easy one for me: I don’t have a tv. Ours broke down last November and I must admit: I feel much better without one. So, instead of just a one-week-off why not complete tv-off?

    OK, I must admit, I use an online TV recorder to record some favourite movies. Yet, this makes watching TV much more efffective. You want to try it? It’s for free: http://www.onlinetvrecorder.com

    Best, Alex

  5. Kirsten schreibt:

    Hi Alex,
    well, I have to admit that the TV-turnoff-week won’t be that challenging for me either. I have a TV, but no reception (as cable TV is not available in my flat and I haven’t managed to buy the whatever-receiver I would need yet), so I reduced my TV consumption to lending video from the video store from time to time. And it’s not too bad! (no more zapping😉 ) But sometimes I have still have the feeling to miss something (some movie, some TV series) so thanks for the link to the online TV recorder!
    Viele Grüße, Kirsten

  6. aiesecimagine schreibt:

    I am really grateful as well that our TV contract expired a year ago and we did not bother to renew it😉 I remember my student times when my TV was running pretty much all day. When I will move back to Berlin in June, I am planning not to buy another TV.

    Kirsten, thanks for that link: since it is related to We Are What We Do Action 17: http://www.wearewhatwedo.org/do_something/actiondetails.php?pid=17 I have put up your idea on the message boards of all We Are What We Do websites!
    FRAUKE

  7. aiesecimagine schreibt:

    And it is also Downshifting Week this week:

    Downshifting Week runs from Saturday 21st – Friday 27th April 2007, and aims to inspire individuals, companies, children and schools to live simpler, happier lives and be kinder to the environment at the same time. Suggestions include very practical ideas such as eliminating non-essential purchases, cook a meal from local and seasonal ingredients, or finding alternatives to the TV for an evening. Find out more at http://www.downshiftingweek.com/

Schreibe einen Kommentar

