Stiftung Welt:Klasse got me!

We all remember Matti Spiecker, the 24 year old student from Witten Herdecke who had taken a trip around the world, visiting social entrepreneurs, interviewing them and making this whole experience visible to german school classes via videochat. This trip became famous under the name „expedition WELT“. Out of it developed the idea to give german pupils the possibility to do a project-based stay abroad, including their class mates: the Stiftung Welt:Klasse (www.stiftung-weltklasse.de).

It is going well: pupils of the 11th grade from München and Oberhausen will fly to Thailand and China in October 2007. Funds are raised, the program is set up and our partner organisation, Greenway, is taking care of everything there.

OUR partner? Oh yes! I really liked the idea of providing such experiences to pupils. I did a stay abroad myself, when I was this age, and it changd my worldview. It changed me. So, why not make this possible for others as well? I am now working voluntarily with Matti and am setting up this program in Bielefeld.

I know others liked the idea as well. I can only encourage you to help spreading the program and reach as many schools as possible. It is very easy: contact Matti and just do it! It will not only be good for the students, but also for yourself. I got extremely positive feedback from local businesses, I feel proud to be able to contribute and it showed me that work can be much fun!

Ursel

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Uncategorized veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

